DIY Paracord Belt

This project was really exciting for me! I really like the idea of keeping paracord around in case of an emergency and there is a lot of things people make with it! I’ve seen it used a ton as bracelets, keychains, replacing shoelaces, watches, bottle holders, knife holsters, and so much more. It is super strong and durable. Doesn’t fray. Plus it comes in a wide variety of colors. You can get charms for it as well.

IMG_20140715_151802_164

One section of the selection at Hobby Lobby. There are compasses, whistles, buckels, and charms. Not to mention the paracord itself. 50 feet to 100 feet packs.

IMG_20140715_161259_962

I chose this color for my belt. I got 100 ft for $8.99 (But actually with the mobile Hobby Lobby coupon I saved 40% on it) I still have maybe half of it left over.

IMG_20140715_151805_974

They have multiple colors for the belt buckles. (Lowes and Menards both didn’t carry any.) With this buckle I think I could have easily fit 5 loops/rows rather than the 4 in the tutorial. (What I’ll try next time!)

IMG_20140715_201123_696

Beginning the weave. All in all it took me two days to complete. That’s just because of little man and other activities taking precedence. If i were able to focus solely on it I’m sure it would take less than one day. Once I got the hang of it it was pretty relaxing!

IMG_20140717_132611_073

Tada! I know a few things I would do differently next time but I’m still proud of it. I spent a total of $10 on this belt and it is resizable(with a little work) and sturdy. I made mine a little bit looser so it was more comfortable.

IMG_20140717_132620_128

Here is the link to the instructions. Paracord Belt

My only tip is to follow them EXACTLY. I didn’t to start and it wouldn’t work. If you end up making one let me know! I’d love to see how it turned out!

Leave a Reply

