Funnel Cakes

Yesterday morning I was browsing Facebook (on my phone >_> ) and saw someone had changed their profile picture to them with a huge funnel cake.  For the rest of the day I was CRAVING it.

But I have a sick hubby and two sick kiddos. And the counters were covered. Sink full. Dishwasher full(of clean stuff but still. Ugh) The boys wouldn’t sleep, or when one would the other would wake them up. It was tiring and frustrating.

It wasn’t until 10:30 pm that everyone was asleep and STAYING asleep. I was hungry and still had that craving. So I made them. 😀

image

Funnel Cake Recipe

1 cup milk
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla x (I was out so I substituted maple syrup)
1 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 Tablespoon sugar
2 tablespoons melted butter
Powdered sugar for topping
Oil for cooking
* you can use Bisquick instead of making your own. I didn’t have any though 🙂

Heat your oil in a fryer to 375 OR in a pan on the stove top on medium low heat.

Put your ingredients into a bowl in the order given. Mix well after each addition. You don’t want any lumps.

You can use a funnel if you have one. I do not so I cut off the majority of the tip on a squishy bottle. (This is good for pancakes too)

Try a small one first to test the temperature of the oil. It should be about 30 seconds per side to a crispy golden brown. If it blackens quickly then it’s too hot.

I did mine in batches of small cakes. If you choose to do large funnel cakes cook them for 2-3 minutes per side.

Once they’re done cooking use
a slotted spoon to remove and place on a napkin covered plate. I sprinkled with powdered sugar right away. (And ate as I made more)

11:16 pm I enjoyed my desired funnel cakes and a Pepsi. Then watched half an episode of my show and went to sleep. (For about 10 minutes. Then baby woke up super stuffy) Mmmm. Good end to a difficult day.

Let me know how yours turn out!

Leave a Reply

