Halloween Spell Book

I love Halloween! It has always been one of my favorite holidays. This year I started party and decoration planning in mid-September. 😀 Pinterest is very handy for inspiration. (The link will take you to my boards)  These projects are used with things I had on hand, mostly, so they were fairly  cheap. The books I got from Goodwill, paint from Walmart, and spiders/embellishments from Dollar Tree.

This year I have been feeling very crafty so I decided on a few projects and am working on them. My first one, a wall art piece,  I finished in a day.

IMG_20150927_144143836-2

 

I divided my paper into equal parts and free handed the characters. Then using some 50 cent craft paint from Walmart I colored it! I’m going to add some Halloween themed ribbon to hang it with.

Now for the craft I’ve been dying to do. Spell books!

IMG_20150929_142956828

 

There are so many tutorials and I took bits from a few and mashed them together.

Supplies:

IMG_20150929_183830865

  • Hardcover book(s)
  • Modge Podge
  • Paintbrush
  • Paper towel (separated to one ply)
  • Black craft paint
  • Metallic gold craft paint
  • Hot glue gun
  • Foam or thick cardboard letters if you don’t want to free hand
  • Embellishments of some kind. I used dollar store spider/bat/skull rings with the ring part cut off.

 

Firstly you need to figure out what you want on your books. I chose Spells, Potions, and Transfiguration for my three. (More pics to come)  Start with your glue gun. I sketched with a pencil my title and the spider web then I went over it with hot glue.  Make your lines THICK and tall. I went over them twice to get the desired thickness. Don’t worry about the strings from the glue- it adds to the overall look!

IMG_20150928_154143927

(I ended up removing the spider and replacing it AFTER the paper towel step)

Once that part is done you can tear your paper towel into pieces. You want the paper towel damp but not soaking wet. Use a brush (I used the small one pictured) coated in modge podge to push the paper towel into all the crevices around the hot glue. Cover the front of the book  with the paper towel. Using small pieces works better than one whole sheet. It also helps if you work in one direction. (I worked from the bottom up “pushing” the paper towel upwards as I went.  I set mine in front of a small fan to dry quicker because I’m impatient. 😀

IMG_20150928_195359639

Once your paper towel is dry, add your embellishments. (Like spiders) Now it’s time to paint! Cover it in black and let it dry fully.

Now it’s time to make it cool. Take your gold (or copper or silver) metallic paint and a sponge brush(optional)  and lightly brush it on the parts you want to stand out. I did it to my web, spider, title, and spine. I LOVE how it turned out! If I had the free time I would have all my books done by now. I’ve been neglecting housework in favor of this craft.

IMG_20150928_200933772

What is fun about this technique is you can do it to bottles and jars too! So of course I need some ingredient bottles to go with my books.

IMG_20150929_143808008

The only one I have done is a jar of Bat Wings. I cut off the ring part of the bats and hot glued them on after applying the paper towel. I have a bunch of these little jars so all my ingredients will look the same hehe. The lettering and bats have a light coat of silver metallic paint on them. I have plans for a few more jars and they’ll use the copper and gold on black.

 

If you need help or have questions feel free to ask! Good luck and Happy Halloween!

(More pictures will be added as I finish the project. 😀 )

Leave a Reply

