Salt Dough Ornaments

I like salt dough. It’s cheap, easy to make, and the things you can create are endless!

I made them once before and used them as gift tags for Christmas. Used rubber stamps to make the letter imprint then once it was dry I broke out my sharpies to color the letters. The tags turned out fine then, but for some reason this batch bubbled while in the oven. Other than ruining the boys’ handprints, I like how they turned out.

So for starters you’ll need the following supplies:

Flour
Salt
Water
Mixing bowl
Parchment paper or something to roll the dough out on
Rolling pin
Cookie cutters

image

If your dough is too wet, cover your hands in flour while you knead it. Too dry, add a splash of water.
*Too much flour will cause your dough to crack as it’s drying*

Once you have a soft, malleable dough you need to roll it out. The norm thickness is 1/4 inch.

I like this post from lemonlimeadventures.com

image

They tested various thicknesses as well as baking/drying times. Definitely give it a read!

After I rolled my dough out I had Honest help me make the shapes with the cookie cutters. We did winter/Christmas themed. I used a straw to poke a hole in the top so we could hang them.

I put them in the oven at 300 for 45 minutes then let them dry for several days (mainly because I just didn’t get to them)

H helped me paint them. We decided to gift them to his friends for Christmas and he is so excited!

image

*Note: the recipe makes a lot more dough than is pictured. Besides two plates that held handprints I still have a decent sized ball of dough*

H did the tree decorations with his finger after he painted the trees and the Snowmen. (I did the details obviously)

image

My favorite turned out to be the Snowman. (Big surprise, right?)

We strung half a pipe cleaner through the hole and twisted it off. I love how they look on the tree!

image

Happy crafting! If you make some please share!

Leave a Reply

