Tot Workbook

H loves to learn! He’s a little sponge. Constantly asking why and how and who. (Hubby refuses to answer him when asked “Why?” He instead asks H to give a full question. I.e. “Why is that truck loud?” I feel like it has helped the kiddo to think more about what he wants to know and narrow it down. Plus it’s less annoying to hear all day when the questions are different 😉 )

Last August I came across a tot activity book idea on Pinterest. After a little more searching and reading I came up with my own version. After a trip to the store, H’s workbook was born!

image

I already had the binder. I used fun scrapbook paper for decoration. Sturdy page protectors from Target. ** They HAVE to be the sturdy kind or they will not work**

We started with a black dry erase marker. Once we did the book cover to cover and he asked to do more, and I realized HOW much he liked it, I bought him a pack of colored markers. Big hit!

I used pages from a preschool activity book (shapes and colors) to start with. I started small with only 5 pages, front and back.  Ones I thought he would like or shapes he already knew.  After he seemed okay with those I added more.

image

He likes this page but always tries to incorporate the line into his letters. 😉 I think a reprint with the lines gone will be better. I made it in Word.

Anytime we learned about something new (Octopus, Owl, Cow, Cat, Spiders) I would print an extra letter tracing page out for the binder. That way we had one for the activity and one to keep doing!

image

He prefers to trace inside the bubble S rather than the dotted line ones.

Every couple weeks I have gone through and updated the workbook for him. Added new pages and removed old ones.

image

His favorite are these; where you have to help someone get to somewhere via shape path. He’s done these well from the get go.

image

image

He has gotten pretty good at tracing! He can write a lot of the alphabet but his tracing  has improved so much. When we first started with the book he was more interested in coloring things in and erasing them.

image

This was back in October. He was working in the book while I did dishes and he called me over to see. I was SO proud. The blue is mine.

image

To teach him to have a good grip on his writing utensil I take a small wad of napkin or tissue and have him hold it with his pinky and ring finger. Then his other fingers hold the marker naturally. He doesn’t always need it but if he asks I will do it for him. He’s at the point now where all I really have to say is “pretend you have a tissue under your fingers”

image

Finished number

image

He kept making silly faces and finally pretended to be asleep for this picture last week.

If there is dried stuff on the pages then I’ll take a little Windex and a washcloth to them at the end of the day. Not every night but at least once a week. He has a small eraser he can use and thinks it’s fun.

He has some empty pages for just doodling as well. He likes when we draw together.

image

This is his cat, Violet. (Again mine is the blue. 😉 )

image

This is baby and me. 😀

Overall I’m very happy with this workbook. It’s so versatile and he enjoys it. 🙂 Any questions or ideas just let me know!

 

 

UPDATE: I’ve added a bunch of new pages. Most are hand drawn (our printer died) He did this one tonight 4-6-16 with no prompting

image

I have a bunch printed out though. I’m going to do a Bug themed week and I also have a bunch of other work packs. Most of them are from 123 Homeschool 4 Me
but I also have a bunch saved to my Pinterest board.

5 thoughts on “Tot Workbook

  1. Okay, so I’m new to working with children. I’ve been working with preschool age for a few months now. He seems younger than the ones I work with and they’re 3 to 5 years old. My three year olds aren’t able to to trace the way he does. I was wondering his age? Do you practice everyday in the workbook? Where do you get those trace the path activities (rocket to moon, fisherman to pond)?
    Thank you! Great post!

    • My son will be 3 mid February. We try to encourage him to do the workbook or writing or drawing/coloring daily. I think the most important part of it is his pencil grip. When he holds it well and focuses he does an awesome job.

      I got those two pages out of an activity book from either Walmart or Dollar Tree, I can’t recall. They sell similar books everywhere though.

  2. I love this idea. I need something to keep my daughter busy. I love the idea of putting them in the sleeves and using dry erase markers. I think I’m gonna have to make one for her!!! She turns 4 in March and I think this will be perfect.

Leave a Reply

