Unicorn Meat 6

“He’s going to be awhile. Like I said, I’m next.” Her voice sounded from behind me again.

I rolled my eyes and shuffled to a chair that was facing away from her. Marie jumped off of the counter and sat in the one next to me. After a few moments of silence, the woman spoke again.

“What happened to your kitty?” She asked. I saw Marie’s ears twitch and I hoped she would hold her tongue. Kitty. HA.

“She got into a fight.” I answered.

“With you? I think she won.”

I smirked and turned around to find her grinning at me. Her black hair was curly and short, though not an afro. She had a narrow face and I realized that her skin wasn’t shiny black. Well now I was just confused. Her grin faltered as she tightened her thin arms around her middle and looked away. I was sinking into the seat next to her before I realized I had moved. Marie sat  tall in the chair on the other side of the row and glared at me.

“What’s wrong?” I asked as I settled into a semi-non agony inducing position. She looked over at me with amber colored eyes.

“I don’t know. I think it’s food poisoning but I feel so awful.” She said softly. I’d never had food poisoning. I looked over at Marie who had jumped over the back of the chair to walk towards me. She jumped into my lap and I hissed in pain as she bumped my arm. She curled into a ball across my thighs and gave the woman a look.

“What about you? You look, and smell, awful. No offense.”

“Well that is kinda offensive.” I replied as I leaned away slightly. She snorted which made me smirk.

“It’s a long story actually.” I sighed and repositioned my arm but it didn’t stop the throbbing.

“I have time.” She said softly. I looked back over and without thinking, I started talking. I told her about the hag, though I avoided the illicit unicorn meat, and the subway. As I mentioned the Maw bite I looked over to find her staring at me wide eyed. My story faltered to a stop.

“What’s wrong? Am I being too gruesome?” I asked, feeling bad.

“Are you on something?” She asked with a furrowed brow.

“Uh…a chair?” I replied. Marie dug her claws into my thigh and I growled at her.

“No…what are you talking about? A maw? A ..kill age? I don’t understand.” She shook her head and her curls bounced slightly around her face.

“You know. A Kilij. Blade hands? Old time Turkish origin?” I said. Even if people didn’t always see them, they knew they existed. She stared at me, uncomprehending and my eyes widened slightly.

“Are you human?” I asked softly. Shit.

                “Aren’t you?” She countered. I nodded and leaned forward a little.

“You really don’t know what I’m talking about?” My curiosity was sky rocketing.  I had never met a human that didn’t know of the monster realm. Of course the majority didn’t, but one that was IN one of the heaviest monster populated cities in the country and didn’t know?

“There’s a blood soaked guy sitting next to me at a doctor’s office talking about people with sword arms and mouths full of shark teeth. I’m not sure you’re the most credible person to be talking to.”

“Why are you here?” I asked.

“Food poisoning….” She trailed off while giving me a look.

“No but…in Monere. This part of the city?”

“I just moved here a couple weeks ago. I’ve been working in the market.”

“Why?”

“Why do you care?” She asked defensively.

“Because humans don’t just come to this part of the city. They just don’t.”

“Then why are you here?” She asked with narrowed eyes.

“I-“ I paused. I actually didn’t know. “I’ve uh, been here as long as I can remember.”

I frowned as I tried to recall my furthest memory. Marie growled in my lap and stood. I looked down and remembered finding her at the shelter. The shelter where I was before I got my house.  Why was I at the shelter?

“Miss?” A voice called out, snapping my attention back to the present. I looked up as a nurse appeared with a clipboard. The girl stood and hurried to the nurse. I stared at her, confused, as she glanced back over her shoulder at me.

I saw the shifting shadows over my shoulder again as the girl left the lobby. I released a breath I didn’t realize I had been holding and looked down at my hand. It hurt. Everything hurt so it was hard to pinpoints a specific area, but my hand definitely hurt.

“Mace?” Marie asked bedside me. I looked over to her swollen face and guilt washed over me. That’s my fault.

“You should rest some more.” She said as she curled up on the hard chair. I nodded and tried, but I couldn’t stop thinking of the girl. Was she a spider? Should I have asked? Would that be rude?  I sighed as Marie yawned and resituated so she could see the receptionist desk.

 

For some reason this never actually uploaded like I thought it did. Oops. Sorry for the confusion.

Leave a Reply

